Vedic glossary

In this post, I’ll write about some of the common and notable terms used in Vedic literature, along with their meaning. I’ll keep updating the list as I learn more of the terms.

  • Adharma(अधर्म) – Intent about self.
  • Dharma(धर्म) – Intent for self, along with a conscience to help others.
  • Avatar(अवतार) – One who evokes humanity in everyone and sees no one as an oppressor or villain.
  • Riti(रीती) – traditions
  • Niti(नीति) – Law
  • Varna (वर्ण) – capability
  • Aham(अहं) – self
  • Brahmin(ब्राह्मण) – One who advises society.
  • Kshatriya(क्षत्रिय) – One who protects society.
  • Vaishya(वैश्य) – One who feeds society.
  • Shudra(शूद्र) – One who serves society.
  • Karma(कर्म) – Action without expectation. Acting without seeking control over the outcome.
  • Yuga(युग) – phase (in reference to the 4 phases through which a culture goes through, namely Krita, Treta, Dvapara and Kali).
  • Sanskriti(संस्कृति) – culture
  • Atma(आत्मा) – An idea that offers conceptual clarity, that establishes a connection(yoga) with the world as it really is, not what we imagine it to be.
  • Indriya(इन्द्रिया) – senses through which we perceive the world.
  • Manas(मानस) – imagination
  • Chitta(चित्त) – emotions
  • Vivek(विवेक) – conscience
  • Dehi(देही) – The immortal resident of our body, which does not have any quality, and therefore does not decay with time. Dehi establishes universality, that we are all one.
  • Deha(देह) – The physical body, which separates us from other entities. It is an envelope around dehi. Deha establishes individuality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s